writer’s blogs

I’ve come across a post on E. E. Knight’s journal that happens to mention the urls of a number of other working fantasy authors’ blogs. So I’ve taken down the names, added them to the rss feeds that I’ll be following for a bit, and I’ll keep or delete them as I go through the list.

This is what I generally look for when I browse writer’s blogs: craft tips, but not ones that smack of a lecture– I hate hard-and-fast rules (the words Show, Don’t Tell make me twitch); experiences though the publication process, what to expect, what to look out for; personal struggles with specific craft/character/plot problems while working on a book, because it makes me feel as though I’m not alone and because I like to see how people work through these problems. I suppose that when you add all these up, what I’m looking for is a virtual mentor, someone who will neither preach at me nor whine for attention. Someone who I’d actually read, and admire at least one aspect of their style. I haven’t actually gotten to picking out E. E. Knight’s books, but his page has a nice, approachable tone to it, he’ll reply back to commenters, and he actually has a number of posts on craft that can make me stop and consider what he has to say, even if I don’t always agree completely.

Here’s hoping for the next batch of journals. I’ll keep things posted.

Leave a Reply

