the monthly writer’s meeting

I came to the first meeting with these people in January. I wanted to be involved in a writing group that wasn’t online, and when my NaNo regional leader passed out the link of one of these meetings, I packed up my notebook and headed over. Almost all the people involved were elderly or middle aged women, and I was promptly dubbed ‘the baby’, and when I mentioned that I had already written several (terrible) books eyebrows raised around the table.

Two meetings later and we’re in the middle of discussing query letters, and I seem to be getting a reputation (mostly for working too hard and not sleeping). The leader of the group seemed impressed by the sample letter that I brought in, and mentioned more than once that she was interested in Blue Crystal. I love that people three times my age are taking me seriously in this field. It’s incredibly uplifting.

Leave a Reply

