chapter six: bloody hands

I like this chapter so far. It’s been slow going– I had wanted to have 30,000 words written by today. Instead I have just over 26,000. But this chapter has good pacing, and the plot is finally starting to show signs of life. Things are happening, and the characters are finally attaining the active role I’d wanted for them! The first forty pages felt as though life was just throwing itself at Rylan, who struggled to keep on the surface of things. Now one thing is leading to another, and the characters are partially responsible for that.

It’s a good feeling. What concerns me now is why this hasn’t happened for the first five chapters. They certainly weren’t dull. I’ll have to address that after I finish this draft, hand it off to my test-readers, and hear what they think.

Leave a Reply

