april goals

I’ve started doing word count goals for myself.

While I don’t really think a word count really accurately measures work on a project… or emphasize quality… I find that the numbers really help me. Last November I participated in NaNoWriMo and finished my 0-draft on my book, and now I wonder if I ever would have gotten it done if I hadn’t forced myself to keep writing.

Granted. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month, for those unfamiliar with the term) has a 50,000 word goal. To meet that I needed to write 1,667 words every day. My goal for April is less ambitious. Right now my book has broken 26,000 words. By next month I’d like it to have reached 40,000. I average five thousand words in every chapter, eight pages in my word documents. Statistically, that would put me with three more completed chapters by May. And I should finally get to some of the fun fighting scenes that I’ve been looking forward to.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “april goals

  1. Good luck. I generally use a page count. Stephen King once said he shoots for 10 pages a day. Sometimes he’s out by noon, other times he’s still struggling after dinner.
    I shoot for a minimum of 5 pages.

  2. Well, that’s an awesome goal! Good luck!

    I do a daily word count–if I can count the words, then I win. šŸ˜‰ LOL…actually I aim for 1,000 a day. Sometimes I get 2,000, sometimes I get 200. As long as I’m making progress I’m feeling golden.

Leave a Reply

