writing craft, a list

I decided to make a short list of the essays on writing and blogs that made me really think about this field. I only picked out a few of the sixty-five writers I follow (and I disagree with every one in at least one small way). Hopefully these will be useful.

E.E. Knight’s Journal has over a dozen useful links to craft essays that he’s written. His April Fools Day joke post on writing is also twitch-worthy.

Full Throttle and F**k It – A slightly less than polite title, but Steve Malley has written some of my favorite articles on craft. Especially worth reading are his comments on sequel (not a second-in-the-series sequel, but the follow-up to a scene to ensure smooth flow), and the post on how the body reacts to sudden and persistent dangers has been a great help.

A Newbie’s Guide to Publishing, by J.A. Konrath. While most of the advice is down-to-earth and practical, I find myself bristling at some of his comments about letting genre standards define what you write and not breaking out of the box. This may be why I’m in fantasy…

Paper Cuts! Glorious Paper Cuts!, by Elizabeth Jote (a literary agent). Brutal, funny, and usually advocating good sense and common courtesy. (If ever there was a longer way of saying ‘don’t be an idiot’…)

The Life of a Publisher, by Echelon Press Publishing. Informative, and a good industry reference.

Are there any really stellar craft-journals that I might have missed? Feel free to post your favorites; I’m always looking for more sources.

One thought on “writing craft, a list

Leave a Reply

