writing by the seat of your pants

… a tragic tale of a plot that went one way, an author who tried to steer elsewhere, and the resulting botched set-up.

I think I’m going to have to rewrite much of last Saturday’s progress. I’m keeping the line I liked so much, I’m keeping the new character, and I won’t change the situation… but the pacing and setting was meant for another encounter, and it just doesn’t work.

The good news is, the changes will eventually lead back to my outline. Also good news… I complicated the plot even further by damaging a devoted servant of a character my protagonist really needs. Bad news? I don’t want to be less than forty percent completed. 😦

2 thoughts on “writing by the seat of your pants

  1. Revising, such a pain. I was writing a story and I had to totally re do it bringing me all the way back to under 20 percent done.

    By the way thank you for commenting my blog, sorry it took a while to respond but I have been extremely busy and not on the computer

  2. I recently had to do that with a short story; kept a few choice bits and chucked out the rest. It’s interesting how the rewrite can turn out so differently even if you’re following the same basic idea.

Leave a Reply

