thin skin

So… the day before yesterday, I learned that someone whose art that I admire really didn’t care for my work. She phrased it nicely, and made it clear that she didn’t think it was badly written, but even so… I’ve been a little depressed and haven’t really written since Monday, especially since I’ll be backtracking when I do.

I don’t expect everyone to like Blue Crystal. I set out to write something desperate, realistic, gritty, and violent, and (I admit) I’ve drawn some of my inspiration from George R.R. Martin’s ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ series. I’m expecting some to be repulsed by what I’ve done. I’ve even already gotten that reaction from one reviewer, whom I surmise was shaken by the cannibalism; murder is commonplace in books, while eating the leftover meat because you’re a starving man is taboo.

Even so. Getting a negative reaction from someone you admire… I think perhaps I had hoped that since I admired her for her talents that perhaps she’d reciprocate. Things don’t seem to work that way.


Update: A few hours after posting this, I browsed the internet for fantasy covers that I liked, came up with a decent idea that would look beautiful painted in a classical style, and emailed the artist with my new ideas for a book cover. I feel better now, and I think it’s going to be beautiful.

3 thoughts on “thin skin

  1. I admire the goal — I love things tackled in a really gritty way. There’s plenty of fantasy out there, but there isn’t enough really honest stuff to read. So it sucks, but I’m glad you got past the minor hump, and found the direction for a good cover.

    (And I never commented on your excerpt, but I liked it; I thought it was a good setup, very visual. I’d have more thoughts, but I read it a couple weeks? ago.)

  2. It’s shaping up– I just heard back from her, and it turns out she likes both ideas I sent. I also asked her what her taste in books were, and it’s really more of a genre thing than a writing thing. So yeah!

    I’m glad you liked the excerpt– it’s still rough, of course, but thanks! 😀

  3. It’s always hard to hear something less than raving enthusiasm about your work, especially from someone you admire. But at least you’ve gotten a new cover idea out of it, and that it really wasn’t about your writing, but the genre itself! Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

