50%!

As of last night, I reached 47,533 words. 50% of my projected length. Woot!

That said, I had an idea that again deviates from my intended storyline, but sounded very good last night. This morning I remembered the idea, and promptly felt sick. Oh, it works. But it’s dark, even for me.

This has happened before. I lay down to sleep and my mind races. I see dialog, chapter layouts, characters dancing in my head as I lay there, and when I’ve been especially productive it can last for hours. But when I wake, I realize that these 2-a.m. thoughts are always rock-lodged-in-your-gut disturbing or melodramatic.

Anyone else think their judgment is skewed by early hours? Or is it just me?

4 thoughts on “50%!

  1. During nanowrimo, I had so much trouble sleeping because I would get ideas for where my story was going to go, and what my characters would do. I eventually just kept my notebook by my bed so I could reach over and jot down a quick note or two.

    My best ideas by far have come as I’m drifting off to sleep or slowly waking up. Sometimes they’re strange and disturbing, but it ultimately creates a better story…

    Funny how that works, eh?

  2. Congrats on the 50%!!

    To be honest, most of my odd or poignant ideas come from the 2 – 5 am range, when I should be sleeping. I know this because I always write down the times of when I start writing. Something about that time of night gets my mind whirring with little plot twists, and it’s worth listening to that middle-of-the-night muse sometimes. It has to be good when you wake up and think, “What? I came up with that?” It means you’re surprising yourself, which means you’re probably surprising your reader, too.

  3. Congrats!

    I don’t know if my nightly plotting is more disturbing than the daily result, but it’s definitely much more cohesive and inventive. It’s always during the night when I feel the little click of “oh, so THAT’S why I killed off that character, so this and this could happen.”

    I like the new look, by the way. šŸ˜‰

  4. No better time for creativity than in the hypnagogic state between waking and dreaming, for me. During waking hours I make a conscious attempt to mimic the hypnic. That is, I do my best to convince my brain I’m subconscious. šŸ˜‰

    -Stephen

Leave a Reply

