writer’s conference

I don’t usually talk about myself on this blog… it often makes me feel uncomfortable, and who really needs to hear another person ramble on about themselves? The constant story-thoughts for the story that no one else is reading is certainly bad enough, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

That said, I came across something interesting today: the Pacific Northwest Writer’s Association Writer’s Conference.

Friends and readers probably don’t know anything about me but my literary aspirations (and my age), so I’ll elaborate. My name is Eliza to anyone I’ve met beyond the age of fifteen, Beth to my family and people who knew me as a frizzy-haired child. I have a classic case of ADHD which has taken me most of my life to learn how to disguise, work at a video game testing company, and though I live in Spokane, Washington now, I grew up in various towns around Seattle. Most of my family lives there. My parents may again be living in Seattle within a few weeks, depending on how an interview for a really great job goes (feel free to pray for my dad, if any of you are so inclined– things have been a little tight).

I read about that writer’s conference… and I thought… I could go there. My book’s not ready for submission yet, but I could still network. I could learn how to navigate next year’s con, so that I know what’s going on when I go with a purpose. I could talk about craft (and learn not to grind my teeth down when people start touting what I consider ‘stupid’ rules). And, this is the most interesting note, I could go with a finished rewrite if I pushed myself to go a little faster. I’d have until July 17th. That’s a little over a month to write 40,000 words.

… I did it for NaNoWriMo. I can do it again.

If anyone planning to go reads this, I’ll see you in Seattle.

3 thoughts on “writer’s conference

  1. A link? ๐Ÿ™‚ Right over on the side bar– I have a cover mockup, and a sample back of the book snippet under ‘Blue Crystal’, and a small excerpt of the opening scene. That’s the one I mean to publish. And thank you!

  2. Sounds like an interesting conference. I’d come if I wasn’t notoriously broke and living down here in Utah. I’m planning to attend a small writer’s conference down here, but will wait for the bigger ones until the second draft of Light is done ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Let us know how the conference is going for you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

