weekly goal (and a long moment of cringing)

Over the weekend I didn’t get much writing done. This is partly because I’d had a tough week and needed to take a break, and partly because after that really climactic scene I needed to step back and figure out where to go from there.

So I started plotting out the next few chapters, and I realized that I’m only five chapters from the end of the book. I knew that I was close, about 30 or 35,000 words away… but even so. That puts a new perspective on things. My new goal is to write a chapter every week. I should have this draft finished at the end of July.

And… … because I’m an idiot… I accidentally erased my last twenty-five comments on my blog. I was trying to erase one (I referred to my own article and I hate pinging myself) and woosh! … Out they went. Excuse me while I go smack myself on the head repeatedly, and know that I really don’t hate you all.

4 thoughts on “weekly goal (and a long moment of cringing)

  1. Hi!

    Congratulations on being within sight of the end of your novel. Is it your first?

    I’m about 70000 words into a sci-fi novel, with about 30000 or so to go, so I guess it’s comparable to you, except that I feel absolutely stuck. I’d be lucky to finish with the thing by the end of summer.

  2. Actually, this one is more like my sixth, though that’s a little subjective. The others never made it past the first draft, and I never really tried to publish any of those. This one is a rewrite, so at least I know where it’s going (when my characters aren’t breaking my plot). 🙂

    Good luck on your own book!

  3. Do you have your story plotted out before you begin, or do you have just an inkling of an idea of how you would like the story to turn out? …Or do you just let your characters go and see where they lead? This question is one I’m wrestling with. For short stories it’s not a problem, but I find novel-length fiction problematic. I’d be curious to hear what other writers do.

  4. Hmm. Well, honestly that kindof depends on the book. Some I’ve plotted (my characters always break my original outline), some I just went with. I always thought that Neil Gaiman had a good point when he said something along the lines of ‘you never really learn how to write a book. You only really know how to write this book’.

    For Blue Crystal… well, it was a story I’d wanted to write for about four years. I had an idea, I had some of the characters developed, and I even made several false starts. Then I went back to other projects after a few thousand words.

    Then, about halfway through last October, I decided to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), and to pick up Blue Crystal again. Things had changed in those years– I was no longer really interested in the first setting, since I’d decided to do some radical things with the planet in question. I then decided to write a bittersweet novel and I had a fairly good idea of the end. Once NaNo started I really couldn’t waste time wondering what I’d gotten myself into.

    I wrote a really, really, really bad disconnected 0-draft in a month. It had a beginning, a shaky middle, and an end that sat awkwardly on the rest of the story, perched precariously as if it knew that the logistics wouldn’t hold. But really, that’s what I needed. Just to see it in its complete form, for better or for worse. Then I actually knew what I was really going for.

Leave a Reply

