end of my writing-hiatus

When I finished my novel, I decided to take a week-long break before I began working on the third draft. I finished my book on the early hours of last Wednesday morning, making this the last day of my writing-hiatus.

So in the meantime, I thought I’d take my mind off of the story with other things:

  • I saw the new Producers movie. It was entertaining. It even made me twitch during some of the scenes, and the end of the movie is different from the first.
  • I also watched V for Vendetta. I had not seen it before, but I have decided before the movie was even finished that I adored it. The only downside was that I couldn’t help but wonder how similar it was to my own book. Just a few plot elements– anarchy, revenge, plague, politics, men in masks– but it made me a little uneasy for a short while before I dismissed it. They’re different enough.
  • I started reading Roger Zelazny’s “Bring Me the Head of Prince Charming”. As much as I loved some of his other work, I ended up putting it down halfway through. I’m simply not the sort of person that can stomach satire.
  • I started reading one of the Forgotten Realms ‘Drow’ novels– Dissolution. I probably will finish that book (a good friend gave it to me, and I use the drow in gaming), but I can’t help but roll my eyes at the characters. In some four story lines so far, there’s only one I even remotely care about. I despise how D&D novels handle magic, I really do. There’s no art, no logical systems, no consistency to it. And this book in particular has an annoying habit of describing someone’s emotional reaction to something before mentioning what just happened. And the POV characters have this ‘magical’ insight as to what other characters are thinking, but don’t say how. ‘By their expression’ is not good enough. Stop being vague, you idiot writer. Give me details! And stop putting people out of character to attempt an omnipresent viewpoint!

… I’m done now. But it is true. Read bad books. They can be more helpful than a good book.

I also picked up three more crit partners in the last week. I think I’ll keep two of them; one is an older woman who has written forty first drafts, but never has published anything. I don’t think she knows about rewriting, or if she has, she’s dismissed it. There is a good reason not to stay on a first draft.

6 thoughts on “end of my writing-hiatus

  1. I agree totally with your convictions regarding D&D books and magic. It’s one of the reasons I developed my campaign setting (Selonus). I got tired of that something special being stripped away from magic. I got tired of everyone and their dog being able to use it. I have several friends who adore the Drow novels and anything else that R. A. Salvatore manages to shovel out, but I personally cannot stand his take on fantasy. I respect my friends in their own tastes, but mine seem to differ greatly from most other’s.

  2. Salvatore didn’t write this one– it’s by Richard Byers, but the idea still stands. There’s really something artless about the books.

    I’m mostly reading them because I like the concept of Drow: one of my hobbies is a text-based RP with a friend of mine. It has a lot of drow characters, and I have a very clever human con artist that loves dealing with them… and enough of a setting now to make a tabletop campaign out of it. I’m a DM, if you haven’t guessed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

