end of november

… And the beginning of December.

NaNoWriMo. It actually seemed to get easier, since last year. Not working full-time probably had something to do with that. I laughed, I cried, I killed off large portions of my cast. At one point I realized that I’d started a chapter wrong, and instead of erasing, put in a page break, wrote ‘chapter six’ over again (still haven’t titled that one) and started it again.

It seemed to have turned out alright, though.

All that work, paid off in the end.

Fifty thousand words. That’s half the size of your typical fantasy novel. And it’s half of mine; I need to finish.

Instead of officially joining NaNoFiMo (National Novel Finishing Month), I’ll be holding the same pace through December. Since I’ve figured out that it’s the personal graph that keeps me going, I’ve recreated the NaNo graphic in Photoshop to reflect December as well. My absent status in the blogging world will continue… but I’ll be back for the new year.

NaNoFiMo Count

How’d the rest of you do?

6 thoughts on “end of november

  1. Congratulations on meeting the 50K mark. Unfortunately, unlike climbing hills writing doesn’t always get easier on the second half… Best of luck for December.

  2. I didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo this year thanks to grad school, but I made writing a higher priority, for sure. Managed to get about thirty thousand words written in the past month, which leaves me with about ten thousand words left to my goal. Pretty exciting!

  3. I gave it a go, and got myself an 50 000 word text that I’ll need to re-write pretty much from scratch if I want it to make any kind of sense for anyone but be…

    I think I understand your second draft strategy, now, Eliza…

  4. Nice going, Belinda! šŸ˜€ Let us know when you’re done!

    JanVanHove– Yep. Been there, done that. I almost think of the rushed version as an extended outline, except that you know the details better. I’m writing my third draft from scratch as well.

  5. Congrats!

    I piddled out at 19K and sulked for the rest of November. Starting December, I picked up an older, abandoned story, wrote 10K and finished the first draft. It all worked out in the end. šŸ˜€

  6. Started out strong, then had to study for exams. Yargh! On the bright side I only have two more semesters to go before I’m a licensed massage therapist. I’m working on a few side projects now and I’ve posted some of my novel from last year. It sucks but at least it’s finished…sorta.

Leave a Reply

