reading block

Sorry for the lack of updates lately… for the last month or so, I’ve been hit with a really severe reading block.

Not really a writing block (though I haven’t done much of that, either). It’s more of a sick listlessness that I get when I pick up a book. Part pessimism, part weariness, part complete lack of attention span. I’m not sure why. It might be the season. It might be that the snowcrete (snow partially melted, then frozen to a rock-hard shell) and isolation have kept me indoors and the lack of exercise and sunlight are getting to me… Maybe depression, maybe stress, maybe literary burn-out. Maybe everything combined.

Have you ever had a dream in college where you suddenly realized that you had signed up for one extra class, but then forgot about it, and never attended and it’s almost time for the final? I’ve been having that dream in reverse. I dream that there was one other class that I was supposed to teach, but forgot all about, and my students have been without an instructor for weeks.

Anyway, this blog may go into hibernation mode until that changes.

Cheers!

5 thoughts on “reading block

  1. Hi Eliza.

    You’ve been sitting on those last 10,000 words for far too long. C’mon… reach down deep so we can all throw some confetti for you. You can do this.

  2. After Grey was published, I went through a reading-block for months. Later I decided it was some sort of a postpartum. Many times before I finished, I went through similar things. There were years I didn’t want to walk into a bookstore. I did have lost of book to read at home, but the shiny covers, the blurbs, the crisp paper were too much.

    It passes with time. As does most everything.

    You’ll get through it.

    • Thanks, Jon. That means a lot, coming from you. šŸ™‚ I think I’m getting better. I’ve started writing again, at least. Maybe it was the lack of sunshine.

Leave a Reply

