the end

After months of sweat, tears, and very probably blood, I bring you the most beautiful image I’ve created in some time:

For those of you who may not understand what this is, allow me to explain. This is the last page of the last chapter of the last draft of my novel.

Three drafts, from 52k to 96k to finally 105k, bringing us up to over 250,000 words written on this novel over the last year and a half– my first version was written because of a spur-of-the-moment decision to join NaNoWriMo 2007.

It needs to be revised, proofread, ect..

I also think I’ll need an agent, or at least an agent-hunt list, by the end of the year. And a new project for this November.

10 thoughts on “the end

  1. Congrats. I envy you, you novel writers because I only write short short-stories and freelance articles.
    So my goal is really to reach 100,000 words too.

    • Novels are a difficult beast; I almost return the sentiment, because my short stories are pretty lacking compared to my longer work. πŸ™‚ Thanks for dropping by!

  2. 105K ( and a finished first draft) is an achievement, hearty congrats and all.

    Now you’ll find out whether the revision will lengthen this (likely in my experience, usually up to 10% longer) or shorten it (unlikely unless you really indulged in the first draft), or the additions and cuts balance out.

    • First draft was finished last year. πŸ™‚ This one’s my third complete draft. I wrote numbers two and three independent of each other in an effort not to be satisfied with mediocre plot. As it’s a action/court-intrigue built around weaving subplots, all the reworking had to be slogged through.

      On the bright side, I’m really excited about the quality I’m getting as I polish this thing up. I’m over halfway done with revisions now, and I’ve been cutting about ten percent (not because of superfluous writing; I’ve a tenancy to over-complicate things). Anyway, thanks for the congrats! It’ll be great once it’s finished up.

Leave a Reply

