editing: wyrren jadis versus distraction

It’s been quiet over here, I realize, though that doesn’t mean it’s been unproductive. I actually like the editing process; I have a very strong internal editor, a good laser printer, and a supply of red pens. Chapter one has been gone over; I’m midway through correcting chapter two. Really, once I get down to work, I can go pretty darn fast.

I had a birthday earlier this week– I’m twenty-five now. Kindof shocking, really; this firmly establishes me as a grown-up. I celebrated by riding horses and playing video games. The Sims 3 doesn’t work so well on my computer, but I’m bullying it into behaving anyway.

To those of you who don’t know, The Sims series is like a game of dolls that fight you for control. You make houses for them, buy them furniture, and set up dramas, careers, hobbies… I love this sort of thing. But last night I’d made a Sim-Eliza, put her in her house, and realized partway through the evening that Sim-Eliza was hunched over her computer with the same bad posture, working on her novel, and making better progress than I was. Her ‘writing skill’ bar was filling up, little by little.

I turned off the game and went back to my word processor.

To the point! I’ll be done polishing up chapter two soon, onto chapter three (there are thirteen chapters in the book) and I’m coming to the point where I’ll need test readers to go over the story chapter by chapter. I’ll send off a chapter, they’ll read it and make comments. … And the editing afterward will be the last before I start agent shopping.

Anyone interested? I have a few test readers already, but I wouldn’t mind more. Anyone who hasn’t been following along with the project should know that this is gritty fantasy, and can get quite violent.

In the meantime, ‘Revision 1’ progress is now on the sidebar.

6 thoughts on “editing: wyrren jadis versus distraction

  1. Ahahaha, when a game mocks your procrastination, you know it’s time to go back to work.

    And ooh! I’d love to be a test reader. Since reading the provided excerpt and information, I’ve been eager to read more. πŸ˜€

    • Yes! I was hoping you’d volunteer. πŸ™‚

      I’ll send it to the email address on your blog tonight. The first chapter has been shortened to fourteen pages– let me know if a .doc doesn’t work.

      • (Darn reply button doesn’t go more than three tiers)…

        Saint– I’ve got Word and Open Office, so really, I can open everything but a MS Works paper and a .docx. πŸ™‚

    • Yeah!

      I’ve got two email addresses that I could send yours to– the one on your blog page, or the email address under your wordpress account (from my comments page). Any preference?

Leave a Reply

