something entirely different… chickens!

Subtitled, “Who let Eliza have a camera?”

By request, pictures of the other distractions. My chickens. I have two ameraucanas, nine silver spangled hamburgs, five blue andalusians, ten silver phoenixes, and one ‘mystery chick’. The babies just turned four weeks old, while my ameraucanas are far elder at six weeks.

These are all photographed under their heat lamp– colors have been retouched to take away The Glaring Yellow. So, without further ado… chickens!

Rosamund

See the big girl? That’s Rosamund, one of my two ameraucana hens. She’s going to lay me some blue eggs. To the left, the black chick is one of the blue andalusians, and the black and white in front of her is a silver spangled hamburg.

Phoenix

A phoenix! Isn’t she pretty? These birds are impossible to photograph– they delight in turning their heads at the last second. I ended up with far too many pictures of chicken rumps.

Pat

Last, but not least, sleeping chickens. See the white one? That’s my mystery chick, Pat. S/he came covered in white down (not yellow– the palest of cream colored), single comb, four toes, no feathers on the legs. Now that s/he’s getting bigger, I’m noticing that there are tiny little spots of black and gray feathers growing in– the gray is at the top of both wings now, very pale, and there are three singular charcoal feathers on the back. I have no idea what the breed is. It looks to be a medium sized chicken, but other than that… I’m at a complete loss.

ElizaAlright. I lied. Leave an Eliza around a digital camera for too long, and there will be tragic, moody self portraits.

… Though I may put this in the ‘About the Author’ section. Anyone who wondered what I look like, here you are. Bad hair and all.

3 thoughts on “something entirely different… chickens!

    • The babies are going through ‘ugly chick stage’ now. 🙂 I’m looking forward to what they’ll be like in two weeks, once their head feathers grow in.

  1. Pingback: chicken redux « tales of a fantasy scribbler

Leave a Reply

