here we go again

So. It’s been a six month absence since I wrote on here. My apologies to my online friends, for disappearing without announcement. It wasn’t my intention. I needed a break (though I don’t think I understood that consciously).

It’s funny, how much your life can change in six months. I’ve moved back to the Seattle area, where I grew up (from Idaho). I’ve broken off my engagement. My family’s financial position feels like an antique plane spiraling down to the earth, engine smoking, propeller struggling, loose fragments of a wing not quite torn off, but flapping in the wind. And through all of this, I feel like I’m leaning back in my seat, asking, “Where is this going?”

The purpose of this blog has been creative writing, with a few random pieces here and there thrown in. It has always been about writing, and that won’t change. But I understand now, I think, why there is only basic writing tips out on the internet. ‘How to make a character’. ‘How to plot a story’. And it’s because no one really understands what the heck they’re doing.

The more I wrote on this journal, the more I questioned what I really knew. Bits and pieces, fragments of thoughts and incomplete musings. (What do I know, anyway?) But incomplete or not, flawed thoughts or no, I think I’ll hang about a while yet.

It’s good to be back.

6 thoughts on “here we go again

  1. Welcome back! Sorry (or maybe glad) that so much has changed in your life. I hope it turns out for the best in the end.

    I’ve noticed that about writing tips too. Mostly I blog about my inspirations, or other writing-related things. I don’t give tips. Not nearly qualified, and there’s a glut of them already.

    • Hey! Thanks for stopping by.

      Good? Bad? … I really have no idea. Both apply, I’d guess. It’s life, and it’s weird sometimes. We’ll see what happens.

      I think I’ll still add writing observations to the blog, but… well. We’ll see how it turns out.

  2. Glad to see you’re back! I definitely understand the whole life-changing, world-shaking, need-to-take-a-break sort of year. That was me last year. And in all honesty, once time had given me the gift of fuzzy memories, my writing has improved substantially.

    You see, I feel it’s during our toughest times in life that we really live. And when we do that, we experience things that later on, we can write about so others, who may not have had the opportunity, will experience them vicariously through our writing.

    Best of luck in what you’re going through. Glad to see you again.

    • I’m not so sure I’ve been living as being shot at, figuratively speaking, but I hope you’re right, Belinda (it’s awesome to see you again, by the way!). I’d had a lot of trouble with The Artificer’s Angels plot-wise before. I figure I’ll just have to force my way past it.

Leave a Reply

