writing and work

I have a theory: working a job while trying to write is good for your book. Or, I think it is, in my case.

I’ve noticed that I don’t write as much when I’m not employed. Often times I’ll drop off writing entirely and try not to think about the novel. I’m not sure why this is. Perhaps my entire system is thrown off without a rigid schedule. I’ve been diagnosed with ADHD since I was six, and most of the literature dealing with the disorder prescribes order and firm boundaries. The only class in college I got a well-earned 4.0 was also my hardest and strictest: History 401: War and Society, taught by a brilliant doctor with a military sense of discipline.

I’ve dabbled with finishing chapter twelve for a while. Months, actually. The difficulty of the plot I’m weaving is completely intimidating.

I start work at Nintendo on Monday morning.

4 thoughts on “writing and work

  1. Congrats on the job!

    I’ve heard that an undercurrent of stress can actually make a person more productive. Too much of course does bad things mentally and physically, but apparently a dash is just enough.

    • I’m really excited. Not in the least because it’s Nintendo. Having money again isn’t a bad touch either; I just found out how desperately I needed this job after I was hired.

Leave a Reply

