one thing to another

So, how is NaNo going for everyone?

I’m behind– probably as far behind as I’ve ever been at 14k/18.3k par– but I’m also taking some time off of work to rest and not get sick. I’m hoping that I can catch up.

Also, while I love this book, sometimes it takes me to very strange places. Has this ever happened to anyone?

My paladin and my amateur inventor (both young ladies) need to get to a city down south. They took a train, so I began my scene in the train. To show them heading off.

The weapon that they brought wasn’t hidden well enough. It was confiscated. The paladin worried for the train worker’s safety, as that weapon is dangerous in a wholly unusual way (an electric spear). She decided that they needed to break into the luggage car and reclaim it. So now I’m not writing a travel scene. It’s now a steampunk train robbery.

Then the attendant who’d taken the spear in the first place showed up with a buddy in the back and started going through the passengers’ bags, looking for things to take. I hear so many stories of people losing things on airlines that I have it in my head that everyone in the luggage rooms must be a thief. The sliding luggage with the momentum of the train pressed against the paladin’s injury, she got caught by the fellow who lingered… he had a pistol…

Long story short, she has a pair of thieves to turn in, an embalmed body she found stuffed into a trunk (being smuggled to the remote country), and all they really want is that spear.

How on earth did I get here?

I love it when the middle writes itself, but… I’m bewildered.

2 thoughts on “one thing to another

  1. Long story short, she has a pair of thieves to turn in, an embalmed body she found stuffed into a trunk (being smuggled to the remote country), and all they really want is that spear.

    I want to read this story so, so badly. 😀

    Stories surprise me all the time while I’m writing them. Sometimes it’s nice in that a plot hole is solved with one twist or an offhand mention proves to be a Chekhov’s gun. Other times I find myself staring at the smoking remains of a draft as a revelation blew it wide open.

    • Hey Ash!

      This story has done nothing but surprise me– I feel like I’m riding a bull sometimes. An angry bull who won’t let me write in straight lines. Once I finish it and get it polished up, I most certainly will poke you, should you be up for beta-ing again.

      I’m looking forward to their explanation to the conductor after all this.

Leave a Reply

